Can a city boy build his dream homestead on a mountain, by himself and with no mortgage?

when God closes an escrow, he opens a…

My tiny cabin and all the land under it has been sold. My neighbor snapped it up 2 days after I put it on the market.

I’ve cleared out all my stuff, moved the trailer to an undisclosed location and have taken a job on a new TV show that has me working on the road across America through Thanksgiving.

For what it’s worth, letting go of my little mountain was easy, not at all stressful as I expected.  The time was right, the decision was made months ago so it was really only a matter of paperwork.  My wee cabin is in the capable hands of good people who will enjoy it as it was intended and I couldn’t be happier.

While I’ll be spending a lot of time in Phoenix, I’m still actively looking for another mountain to settle. Tennessee and Georgia loom large in my view as Nashville and Atlanta are cities I could easily embrace.

That darn woodpecker will miss me tho, the new owner shoots a lot of guns.

last looks

… world of possibilities

7 responses

  1. Frank

    Come to Georgia, you’ll love it here. I have dreams of moving up toward Dalton in NE Georgia in the Woolffork Valley.

    September 17, 2013 at 4:59 pm

  2. So long May peace be upon you.

    September 17, 2013 at 5:26 pm

  3. Very good news for you, it sounds like! I look forward to a new building adventure in n your future. 🙂

    Parker

    September 17, 2013 at 8:12 pm

  4. mike

    Well, it was fun while it lasted. Your mountain retreat really caught my imagination. Thanks for the great blog and best of luck to you.

    September 18, 2013 at 9:23 am

  5. leilani

    Dang. Mike, maybe we can convince the new buyer to start a blog for us or at least tweet us a few pictures every now & then for old time’s sake.

    September 22, 2013 at 4:36 pm

    • Aww Leilani, I’ll find more land and build another cabin soon!
      e.

      September 29, 2013 at 9:52 am

      • leilani

        Well, OK, e. I guess we can cut ya some slack on the transition & stay loyal. But ya better get busy on that land hunt because you know we can’t wait forever.

        After all, these are the best years of our lives, ya know, and some other urban rancher type blogger who already has a chi-chi mountaintop hideaway – maybe even one with a stunning, acoustically perfect combination studio/aviary with a retracting glass roof to house both his concert grand and his beloved pet woodpecker under the stars – might just come along and sweet talk all your old readers away forever before you know it. 😉

        October 9, 2013 at 7:51 pm

Leave a Reply

