Can a city boy build his dream homestead on a mountain, by himself and with no mortgage?

All quiet on the Western front

I’m sorry I haven’t been posting much lately, all is good, weather is hot, work is slow, cows and I are lazy, not much else to report.

IMG_4414

Tri-tip and Sirloin are fine, London Broil has been visiting her mother in the next county (I assume) and Lil’ Sirloin spends most of his time with the hoodlums down by the creek.

IMG_9742

The woodpecker has moved on finally, the disco mylar strips and attack spikes have managed to put a wrench in his gears so he’s off destroying someone else’s cabin.

Eventually I’ll do something and write about it, but just not today!

The lazy hazy crazy days of summer keep a rollin’ on

 

6 responses

  1. Welcome back. I was wondering if the cows had got you!

    July 17, 2013 at 7:32 am

    • I’ve also been working out of town a lot lately, I can’t earn much of a living sitting on top of a mountain!

      July 28, 2013 at 5:43 pm

  2. I just found you through the tinyhousedesign blog and I am having a great time reading all of your previous posts on my lunch break. I have dreamt of turning a shed in to a house for many years now. I have 4 acres in Arizona and I even have the shed but the rattlesnakes drove me in to town last year. Pack rats attracted the snakes and the snakes bit my dogs. I am back in a suburban house while I save up the money and research techniques for rural tiny house living so that next time I can be successful (and add a big snake-proof block wall!). Thanks for all the great pictures and descriptions. I am learning a lot. I am very happy to find blogs like yours because most of my family and friends think I am crazy for wanting to do this.

    July 28, 2013 at 4:59 pm

    • well you are crazy for wanting to do this, but it’s the “good” kind of crazy. Living alone in the country requires a personality that can deal with solitude and isolation. I get stir crazy quite a bit on the mountain and need to spend a lot of time working in cities or I’d lose my mind!
      e.

      btw, you need a big block wall to keep the snakes away? YIKES!! get thee a few mongooses!

      July 28, 2013 at 5:42 pm

  3. Where does one purchase mongooses? Haha… I need some good barn cats to keep the pack rats away. But to be on the safe side, and to keep the dogs away from the cats, I need at least a 2 foot block wall perimeter that goes underground 1 foot so that the snakes cannot go under the wall. The last snake lived under one of the buildings and would crawl under the metal skirting in to the dog yard. Dogs freak out, snake gets mad, dog loses.

    My property is not as isolated as yours. 7 minutes to the nearest Walgreens. 20 minutes to groceries. Home Depot and Lowes are still 40 minutes away though. They have been promising to build a grocery store and Home Depot closer for many years now but with the economy and all, it got put on hold. I still have a water problem. Wells out here are $30k+. Living on rainwater in the desert is quite tricky. When I move back I will have some delivered so that it isn’t so much of a hardship. Filling up 5 gallon water jugs at Walgreen is no fun at all.

    July 29, 2013 at 9:18 am

Leave a Reply

