Can a city boy build his dream homestead on a mountain, by himself and with no mortgage?

the return of woody and his nasty pecker

It’s been gorgeous weather up on Mt. Elroy. Clear and crisp with some snow still on the distant peaks.

I was gone for a few weeks, went to Nashville and mid-Central Tennessee to check out the landscape (that’s a whole other post and a half). Upon my return I discovered that the evil “Woody the Woodpecker” had not only UNDONE the repairs I made to his recent damage, but he went back at my cabin with a vengeance.

Some of the holes actually go all the way through the OSB sheathing and into the insulation. Damage was done in all the same places, just more aggressively…

I nailed up some metal sheeting as a temporary fix. This week I will run down to LA and grab some metal mesh I have in the basement. Woodpeckers are Federally protected under the Migratory Bird Act (sounds like a lotta bulls**t if you ask me) so I can’t kill him. I can, however make life on the side of my cabin quite unpleasant for him. Metal mesh, sticky goop, and painted aluminum sheeting should do the trick (and maybe dull his pecker a bit). Since I am a law-obeying citizen and a friend to all living things great and small, I will bend my anger and let him live.

He may get a dinged pecker but such is life in the wild.

it’s a jungle out there.

I wish he wasn’t so damned cute

5 responses

  1. Flores in L A

    I am so sorry for all the work you have to do. But if you get to the point that you feel like you are going to hurt somebody, get all your repair supplies, a large pillow and a bat. Then get the bat and beat the pillow until it dies. It works!

    May 6, 2012 at 1:17 pm

  2. leilani

    Elroy, what about hanging up one of those plastic owls? The woodpeckers around here aren’t too aggressive. Only occasionally will one wake wake me up playing “Wipeout” on the eave outside my bedroom. But last year I had a white egret problem – they were turning my yard into a rookery – and the owl mannequin (owlequin?) I put up seems to have chased them away, knock wood. (<—-pun not intended, but I'm keeping it in there)

    Evidently, when the rest of the bird kingdom sees an owl, they think "There goes the neighborhood" and move on. Of course, now I have real owls nesting near the fake owl – it seems that not only do birds of a feather flock together, birds of acrylic do too.

    But at least they don't move in huge packs pooping all over the place and they don't punch holes it my soffits & fascia boards, so it was a good trade-off. You might ask at one of your hardware/DIY stores what works in your area.

    BTW, your view is just so stunning. Must be such an amazing feeling to climb up there, get out of the car, twirl around and say "This is mine." I bet it never gets old.

    May 11, 2012 at 6:42 pm

    • the research I did online said that plastic owls don’t really work with woodpeckers but I’ll certainly give it a try. Perhaps my plastic lawn deer would enjoy the company?

      and yes btw, I do twirl around with joy everytime I get out of the car!

      May 13, 2012 at 9:10 am

  3. Have you considered vinyl siding? There are brands that are textured to make them look like wood but won’t be attractive to woodpeckers.

    Plus, they’re low maintenance and won’t warp as easily as wood siding if installed properly.

    May 20, 2012 at 10:49 pm

Leave a Reply

