Can a city boy build his dream homestead on a mountain, by himself and with no mortgage?

what the f***ing f***k?

WTF?!

I was up at the cabin last weekend and noticed this…

and this…

and this…

I noticed the damage in the corner, up under the eaves

and what’s with the corners?…

when you look closely at the exposed tar paper, there’s acorns shoved all the way up and down the side…

I have been hacked.

a little online research found the culprit…

Bear in mind that it has been 4 days since I was up there last. This damage has occurred in the last 4 days.  Pecky the Pecking Pest is a fast little bugger.

More online research tells me to repair the damage immediately. Apparently Pecky the Pecking Pest will start pecking then get bored and move a few inches and start pecking again. If he can’t break through to the insulation, he starts pecking again, a few inches away until he finds a nice hollow place to roost. I prefer to roast him but this must be fixed asap.

I run to the big box store and…

remove the old, warped siding, replace the tar paper, fill the pecked holes with Bondo…

since money is tight, my dream of Ipe wood siding will have to wait. I buy more 4’x8′ T-111 and slap it on, caulk the edges and paint…

Voila’… new back siding!

It’s not the siding of my dreams but not too shabby, plus it should keep the local vermin and riff-raff out.

I set up a spy camera to see if I catch the culprit…

nope…

nope…

YIKES!

WTF is that? alligators?!

AHA!

11 responses

  1. Mike

    Your right…they can do some damage in a short amount of time. Good thing you noticed them when you did. I live on the east coast and have battled this particular winged menace before. Once the wood peckers make the hole large enough to be occupied, the squirrels come along and enlarge the whole to about the size of a softball so they can be nice and cozy living in your walls as well.

    If you can find an authentic looking horned owl decoy and place near your shed it will help to deter the wood peckers. I would recommend hanging the owl from your roof overhang.

    February 2, 2012 at 12:53 pm

  2. Brett

    “bondo” smells like chemicals, tastes like chicken…

    February 2, 2012 at 1:36 pm

  3. jeff

    I’d get metal siding, or a shotgun and a 12 pack and a lawn chair. (Kidding). What a mess in such a short time.

    February 2, 2012 at 2:39 pm

    • LOL, metal siding is too expensive and shooting ain’t an option, woodpeckers are protected under the federal migratory bird act. I say migrate this!

      February 2, 2012 at 5:31 pm

    • Love your style Jeff. Do a little porch hunting………………..

      February 6, 2012 at 6:53 pm

  4. Jay

    Glad it’s not mold!!

    February 2, 2012 at 7:00 pm

  5. “I have been hacked.” Being a programmer, I almost had coffee come out my nose!

    Someone once told me that windchimes can keep away woodpeckers. In lieu of Jeff’s shotgun or harmful chemical repellents, it might be worth a try.

    Gotta warn you though, once woodpeckers make their mark in an area, they’re very hard to get rid of.

    February 3, 2012 at 8:06 pm

    • yes, they fear shiny, reflective objects. I’ll have to hang some metallic silver wind chimes next time I’m up there!

      February 3, 2012 at 9:08 pm

  6. Flores in L A

    You made my day. This is so funny and I laughed so hard that I even forgot to feel sorry for you. Sorry.

    February 14, 2012 at 10:40 pm

  7. Moontree Ranch

    The acorns are the work of Mr Squirrel….ol’ woody woodpecker is looking for bugs…they used the “hollow” type sound as an indication of bug below the bark in a natural tree environment….

    There is more to the fire rating of Hardiplank siding…for my place

    February 16, 2012 at 10:32 am

Leave a Reply

