Can a city boy build his dream homestead on a mountain, by himself and with no mortgage?

thoughts on the tiny tumbleweed towable trailer homes…

A few weeks ago I drove up to Bodega Bay, CA to see an actual Tumbleweed Tiny House in person. Jay Shafer and his Tumbleweed Tiny House Company have had a lot of media coverage in the past year and I’ve been dying to actually see one of his homes in person. A charming and quite talented couple had built Jay’s “Lusby” model home to sell and they held an open house…see the Tumbleweed post here!

The house was adorable…

The 7500 lb. house is easily towed by a 3/4 ton pickup truck!

Check out the high level of fit and finish, it was stunningly well-built…

The kitchen was small but complete and the bathroom was surprisingly spacious…

The interior was beautifully done, hand-crafted cabinets & doors, solid construction, open airy feel with light woods, high quality fixtures and all-around terrific finish work. The shower was unexpectedly roomy and the upper loft area would be a magnificent place in which to wake up!

For some great pictures, scroll down through the blog post on the Tumbleweed site and on the Pepper Clark’s For Sale page here! 
It was a brisk (ccccold actually) and windy day at the bay. A crowd had formed as soon as the house was opened so I only had a few minutes inside. The thought that kept going through my head was how well-designed and built the home was and at the same time, how tiny it really was.
I know there is a lot of downsizing going on now and these popular trailer houses are definitely much more solid than a standard RV trailer but it was reeeeeally small inside! I suppose the weight limitations would make a larger/longer house too heavy to pull with a pick-up truck. Still, I’d love to build a larger main cabin and be able to move it where and whenever I wanted.  I’ll have to give this all some thought.

Great job Pepper, Jay and that shy guy who did the finish carpentry!

4 responses

  1. Thanks for posting about us, and your pictures are beautiful! The shy guy is named Dylan, by the way… 😀

    February 1, 2012 at 6:39 pm

    • Pepper, your house is truly beautiful, fantastic workmanship! I’m thrilled I got to see it

      February 2, 2012 at 10:49 am

  2. MartinWright

    These are nice,but it is simple to go slightly larger and remain mobile. For that matter a good bit larger. Think about it a 16′ by 80′ is easily relocated with simple equipment. I am not in the market for a r/v. I’m in need of a home!! Tumbleweed still Rocks for the idea alone. thanks

    February 6, 2012 at 6:15 pm

  3. Kayla

    “I’d love to build a larger main cabin and be able to move it where and whenever I wanted. ”

    YES, me too! Or maybe even a few tiny houses that could be connected into a larger house, but could then be packed up and moved whenever? I don’t even need something very big, I just want a craft room and a bathtub. Also I would think this would be problematic if you’re single and you build your dream “tiny house” but then meet someone and decide to start a family – might have to sell it!

    I just love the idea of being able to keep my house with me when I move, and not have to go to great lengths to move it. There’s something really intriguing about that.

    February 6, 2012 at 7:47 pm

Leave a Reply

