Can a city boy build his dream homestead on a mountain, by himself and with no mortgage?

…and a ha-ppy new yeeeeear!

I’ve been doing a lot of soul-searching this past month, temps on my mountain have been very cold and nothing newsworthy has happened at the cabin lately.  Though I’ve been offline a lot, I finally snapped outta my Xmas blues and snuck back online to wish y’all a fantastic 2012!

While it’s cozy here in the Christmas Corner, a big work push will be happening up at my compound right after I recover from my upcoming annual Jan 1 hangover.

Hopefully 2012 will see an addition to the cabin (oh yeah!), more decking, a sleeping loft (inspired by my friend Ranger X’s cabin!) and the successful online-ification of the recently completed “James P. Garzo Memorial Power Generating Facility”.

Gather ye young-‘uns a-boot, pull that holiday goose outta yer oven and throw a cold glass of cheap Champagne on the fire for me!

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year Everyone!

e. and 2011 are o-u-t!

7 responses

  1. And a “”Happy New Year”” to You as well!!!

    I love reading your blogs ans snipets and I do pray your coming year is filled with light, love and adventure!!!

    Constance Burger

    December 31, 2011 at 5:35 am

  2. Your little house is so inspiring. I live in LA myself and have an obsession with small, eco-friendly, and affordable housing. I came across your blog through Westways and am really impressed with what you’re doing. Happy New Year!

    January 1, 2012 at 2:00 pm

    • thanks so much for the kind words. After these last 2 years of plotting and scheming, I’m surprised at how easily this is all coming together. Believe me, If I can do it, anybody can do it…seriously, anybody!

      January 1, 2012 at 9:36 pm

  3. Stealth reader here surfacing to let you know that I love the Christmas Photo of you with that fabulous sweater. You got the first giggle of the morning. I really enjoy watching the progress on your tiny house.
    I live in a 380 sq foot house in northern Idaho. I love the downshift from my previous 1500 sq foot house.
    Happy 2012!

    January 2, 2012 at 7:28 am

    • Fantastic Olivia,
      Welcome and thanks! I’m excited to add another room onto my cabin so I can creep closer to 380 sq feet and full-time it, stay tuned and stay warm up there!

      January 2, 2012 at 11:53 am

  4. It looks like you are already moved in! I am in Ontario, Canada – built mine – partially last summer – and this summer hope to get a lot more done. Love your photos and your voice. I am looking forward to more reads! Laura
    tinyhouseontario.wordpress.com if you want to look me up.

    January 5, 2012 at 2:33 pm

Leave a Reply

