Can a city boy build his dream homestead on a mountain, by himself and with no mortgage?

Welcome Westways Readers!

It’s been a hot summer up on the mountain. I’ve been busy working, going back and forth to Los Angeles so I’ve not had much free time to get any “interesting” work done on the homestead.  This has led to a lack of posts since I reeeeally doubt y’all wanna hear about brush clearance and fence repair!

AAA’s member magazine, Westways, just published a story in their September issue called “This Small House” and included me in a section called “Pint Sized Abode”  and I’ve noticed a sudden rise in my blog traffic. I wanted to officially welcome any readers that have been referred by my mention in the magazine!

If anyone is curious how I built the cabin (or survived it, LOL), all my posts are all listed by month, from the beginning, in the sidebar to the right —>

Please feel free to email me at theurbanrancher@gmail.com if you have any questions, comments or ideas on how I can improve our small house community!

Now I need to get back to my brush clearance, fence repair and beer testing!

e.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 responses

  1. You’ve done so much work to get it where you are, you’re entitled to a relatively laid back blogging schedule. Just remember, we’re all envious and hope you’re doing well. Enjoy the beer, let us know if you every get a fish pond dug out and seeded.

    August 23, 2011 at 11:48 am

  2. leilani

    Hmmm. Looks like AAA doesn’t let out-of-staters read Westways. The links elroy gives (which are both obviously correct) automatically redirect me to Texas AAA’s site and I can’t figure out how to outsmart their IP detector to read the article.

    Who knew they were so obsessively territorial they wouldn’t even let us see what our fellow members a couple of states over were up to? 😉

    So a fish pond is next on the ‘to do’ list up there, eh Grant?

    Darn, I was kinda hoping after those pics in April that the snowboard run & ski lift moved up to the top.

    August 28, 2011 at 1:19 pm

  3. Moontree Ranch

    Well done…the more “exposure” the smaller living world receives the better.

    I have not been down to our spread since the 4th of July…but a trips is planed for next month..

    http://kmswoodworks.wordpress.com/2011/07/14/solo-trip-to-the-cabin-miss-maybelle-doesnt-count/

    Good luck with the fences and brush and Have a pint for me too.

    August 29, 2011 at 6:06 pm

Leave a Reply

