Can a city boy build his dream homestead on a mountain, by himself and with no mortgage?

keeping the down low nice and low down

I was corresponding to a fact-checker from Westways Magazine yesterday, they’re including my cabin and this blog in an upcoming article on tiny houses. I told my good friend Garzo about it and Garzo brought up a great point.

Westways Magazine is circulated and read by pretty much anyone in California with a AAA membership and that’s a heck of a lot of people! When I started this blog, it was more of a cathartic experience, a “real-world hard-copy” record of my cabin construction.  It would serve to keep me motivated and on track. Heck, if I opened my big yap and told the Internet that I’d do something, I sure better get it done!

In the past year or so, my regular readership has grown into the thousands. I get a decent amount of email and so far, ALL of it has been kind and supportive. Now, with the exposure to potentially hundreds of thousands of new readers I want to ask a favor…

Will you all please keep my location secret? My master plan relies on the discretion of everyone involved. While everything I’m doing is intentionally “street-legal” I’d really prefer to stay well below the radar. I’m an extremely private person with a career in the entertainment biz (go figure) and I’d love this whole cabin thing to stay on the down low. My mountain is my refuge from the world and I’d hate to lose my one small piece of serenity.

It was a big decision for me to open up and share my project with the magazine and I’m a little jittery about it. The writer was extremely kind and I trust her to be discrete.

Ultimately as I build more, I’ll reveal more details. For now though, I’m good with anonymous.

thanks guys, I know you all understand.

e.

(hiding under the couch with the cat and a bottle of Cuervo)

3 responses

  1. Frank

    Soon as I read about a published article I thought about your serenity.

    I have enjoyed your blog as I hope to do something similar in the north Georgia mountains. The entire idea is to be self-sufficient and at peace with nature. Having dozens of folks scouting you out is not my idea of ‘peaceful’.

    Secret’s safe with me!

    Frank

    February 7, 2011 at 2:38 pm

  2. eriko

    Lips are sealed. Although in this case it is out of ignorance. If asked you are in Tulsa and have delusions of living in CA.

    February 7, 2011 at 3:03 pm

  3. Always a worry. But think about how many people you will reach/inspire! Good things!

    February 8, 2011 at 9:46 am

Leave a Reply

