Can a city boy build his dream homestead on a mountain, by himself and with no mortgage?

as it was intended

I spent the last few days up in the cabin, had a long list of chores…fence repair, brush clearance, ground leveling, trim installation…and on and on.

Instead, I drank beer, slept late in the new bed, chased a cow around (for fun), played with the local free-range hound dog, celebrated prop 19 (at exactly 4:20), watched “Breaking Bad” on the laptop, read the new “Trailer Life” magazine, had a wonderful conversation with a writer from “Westways” magazine and saw the most stunning display of galaxies in the crisp, clear night sky.

Turns out I actually got nothing “chore-like” done but I did have a wonderful, relaxing time enjoying the cabin as it was intended. If I had high-speed Internet instead of dial-up, I swear I’d move in full-time! (I need the broadband for my real job). I calculated that I could save at least $2300/month if I moved into my cabin. That would mean I could work less and after a while, have a crap-load of cash in the bank!  More on this scheme as my mind wraps around it.

I got an email from a lovely reporter from “Westways”, she’s doing an article on small houses and wanted to talk with me.  Not sure if any of our conversation will appear in the magazine but it is gratifying to know that there are so many peeps interested in extreme downsizing that a mainstream mag is talking about it!

For the record… as my compound is set up today, I could live there full-time and probably be quite happy. This would mean down-sizing my career and jettisoning my main home in Los Angeles before I’ve built my main “living-room” building. BUT, if the California economy keeps collapsing (and I suspect with Jerry Brown in charge it will) there will surely be a mass exodus to nearby business-friendly low-tax states.

If this happens, I’m ready to pack up the condo, clean the guns, cling to my Bible and head for the hills!

8 responses

  1. Congrats all around… and $3,200 a month savings seems like a big motivator. It would come at the cost of extreme work-from-home conditions but nothing visits to town and from friends couldn’t help heal. Satellite internet might be worth looking into… it’s not terribly fast but might be workable except for big file transfers. A run to town and parking in a fee wifi zone might solve that problem.

    As far as the economy I’m with you, but I suspect no matter who is in office we’re in for a bit of a shit storm. I typically don’t spout doomer rhetoric but with the fed buying up massive amounts of U.S. debt, oil prices on the rise, inflation on the horizon, and still no official acknowledgement from the powers-that-be that the bubble that was the global economy has essentially popped… it’s making me think the doomers might be right.

    Love to see people like yourself making such amazing positive progress!

    …and good luck with the Westways article.

    November 4, 2010 at 10:07 am

    • I’m like you Michael, never gave too much thought to the “gloom and doom” set but lately, my friends in the financial sector are telling me some very scary stuff. Can’t ever hurt to prepare for the worst, LOL!

      btw, the $3,200 savings is a typo, it’s actually $2,300!

      November 4, 2010 at 10:22 am

  2. lmroberts

    The signs are definitely written on the wall. I know I’ve moved up my plans. Sounds like you have an excellent start there. I use satilite, pay a bit extra for a higher speed and it also is bundled with phone, but I have no issues with downloads. Hubby is a gamer so downloads and speed are a must and he’s thrilled.

    Sounds like you had the perfect weekend. More pics!!

    November 4, 2010 at 11:38 am

  3. And so why AREN’T you living there full-time? Sounds great!! Um, have you mentioned yet what you’ve done for a toilet/shower? Because that’s our next move and I’m not quite sure what we’re doing…looking for inspiration. Would love to see more interior pics—the outisde looks great. Have you thought about laying on the roof for star-gazing? It looks similar to the pitch of ours and we’ve always wanted to do that, but havne’t yet and now it’s too cold.

    November 6, 2010 at 10:40 am

  4. LuAnn

    Me too Brother! I have to get a kid through High School first (class of ’13) then I’m majorily downsizing and going off grid. Work less, enjoy more. Oh, and get rid of a house that is probably upside down mortgage wise.

    November 8, 2010 at 9:58 pm

  5. Pingback: Weekly Roundup – Mulch Paths, Tinyhouses, and More Pigs

  6. I still don’t think as small as you do.
    In the past 12 years I have downsized 3 times from 3000 square feet to 288square feet and find that this latest down sizing to 288 square feet is about as small as me and 2 dogs can live with / in.

    December 5, 2010 at 8:05 am

    • well actually with the trailer (176 sq ft kitch/bath/living/dining rm) and the cabin (120 sq ft bedroom) combined, I have 296 sq feet all together (not including the 48 square ft tool shed). This is a transitional phase for me as I downsize but I suspect that I’ll need an additional 120 sq feet or so before I’m totally comfortable full-timing it!

      December 5, 2010 at 1:16 pm

Leave a Reply

