Can a city boy build his dream homestead on a mountain, by himself and with no mortgage?

just like Gramma’s house!

It’s been 2 weeks since I was up at the cabin so I grabbed my best friend Garzo and we high-tailed it up to the mountains for a ceiling-raisin’!

I was unable to install the t&g boards on my last visit (the stain was not dry yet) so to placate my deep sadness (and my aching back) I ran to Ikea and bought a new bed for the cabin.

Garzo and I installed the rest of the t&g in just about 3 hours, you can see that the orange-y stain has mellowed into a gorgeous knotty pine color, just like in Gramma’s old vacation cabin!

The bed went together quickly and it is VERY comfortable…in case y’all want to get one, it’s the Sultan Hagavik (full $279) and that smart faux walnut frame is the Engan ($119). I highly recommend both as the bed is extremely comfy!

I also bought 2 of Ikea’s solar-powered desk lamps ($20 ea). You can see one on the nightstand. They come in lots of fun colors and after a day charging in a sunny window I got enough light from the 2 of them to light the cabin and read for several hours. Another fan-TASTIC buy from Ikea!

Other than crown moulding, window trim and door casement…the cabin is finished! It is livable, comfortable and insulated to maximum comfort. I’m curious to see how my Little Buddy propane heater will keep the place warm when the snow falls since candles already keep the chill out of the air when the temps drop at night.

Next on the agenda is… the installation of the wind turbine, battery hut construction, shade canopy for the trailer, shower building, and outdoor fireplace.

so much to do, all the time in the world!

peace out

e.

8 responses

  1. Congrats! That looks mighty hospitable. Good thinking on the solar lamps… talk about a micro off-grid system.

    October 12, 2010 at 6:58 pm

    • thanks Michael!
      my compound is now fully functional and livable! I have 12V power, a closed water system, heat, a/c, gas generator, sleeping beds for 6 adults, a fridge, freezer, hot water shower, land-line phone, dial-up Internet and a view to die for.
      I couldn’t have done it without your encouragement and support, your solid resources and strong web presence.

      if you’re ever in the neighborhood, give a shout
      I owe you a beer!

      October 12, 2010 at 7:08 pm

  2. This is gorgeous! Please do share pics when you use the Little Buddy – I have considered purchasing one for supplemental heat here in Ky and would love feedback for an actual owner of one!

    October 12, 2010 at 7:12 pm

  3. Phil

    Great job UrbanRancher! I’ve really enjoyed watching your project come together.

    Your Little Buddy will work just fine – I used to have a property in Tehachapi with an insulated 10×12 cabin (with an 11 foot ceiling) that I heated with a Little Buddy. On 25 degree nights it could warm the place up to 68 or so. I would use the 9000 btu setting to bring the temp up, and the 4000 btu setting to maintain temperature. However, it’s an unvented heater, so I wasn’t comfortable leaving it on while I slept. I often woke to a 40 degree cabin.

    October 12, 2010 at 10:49 pm

  4. Excellent! It’s awesome to see how your place comes together at the end.

    October 13, 2010 at 6:35 am

  5. Bel

    My husband and I discovered your blog the other day and read most all of it as fast as we could. We are about to do something similar and found your project (and general outlook) most inspiring! It looks spectacular. I am now wanting a ceiling just like yours. Congrats and thanks so much for sharing it all.

    October 13, 2010 at 10:13 am

    • gee Bel, thanks for the very kind words!
      building a tiny cabin was easier than I thought but it was a lot of work, I say go for it.
      there’s nothing like the feeling you get opening your eyes in the morning after your first night under your own handiwork!

      October 13, 2010 at 10:32 am

  6. Congrats man – looks great – so impressed.

    October 19, 2010 at 9:05 pm

Leave a Reply

