Can a city boy build his dream homestead on a mountain, by himself and with no mortgage?

the long and winding road…

First off, the photos on this page are NOT Photoshop-ed, the colors and light on my mountain are truly spectacular!

It’s been a long year for me… unemployment, financial setbacks, an economy in free fall, heck…it’s been a hell of year for us all. There have been some bright spots though, I’m finally working again (yeehaa!), I won a fantastic wind turbine, and oddly enough my personal life seems to be the stuff of grand romance novels.

All in all, next to the chapter in the novel where the sinewy flesh is rippling and the bodices are popping off, my proudest moment was this past Saturday night at 9:30pm. The cabin has been officially slept in and I can joyfully report, a great night’s sleep was had by all!

True that the drywall is not spackled yet, the floor is still plywood and the plastic vapor barrier is not exactly what I want to see when I look up BUT I cleaned out all the tools and crapola, set up the air mattress, hung the drapes and spent a blissful night in my tiny cabin!

We trundled up to the mountain on Saturday morning so I could finish painting the tool shed a gorgeous Olympic semi-transparent stain in “Oxford Brown” (same as the cabin’s horizontal siding). No mice were able to penetrate the inner OSB barrier skin so I’m confident my tools and building materials will remain rodent-free for a good long while.

After a sweeeeet sundown dinner of chicken strips, potato salad and rum and cokes, we sat on the new deck for hours and watched millions of stars shining overhead. The air was chilled and brisk and the deck stayed strong and solid.

I actually did it! I dreamed of a small off-the-grid compound that I would build myself, by hand, and less than a year later I have a trailer and two buildings up and running. All are paid for and even my neighbors seem to be happy with my results. Seriously guys, if I can do this, ANYONE can do this!

I’m going to spend the Fourth of July finishing off the interior so the cabin will be guest-ready for my big end-of-summer BBQ bash. I’ll keep blogging although I hope y’all are not inside web surfing all summer but out in the sunshine, enjoying a gorgeous summer and breathing the crisp, clean air that God intended!

peace out for now!

E.

6 responses

  1. Fantastic to have followed your progress and see the place finished. You’ve a stunning area to live in, I wish you well for the future there.

    J.

    June 15, 2010 at 12:48 am

  2. ha1ku

    Congratulations! Can’t wait to see how the interior turns out.

    June 15, 2010 at 5:19 am

  3. Pingback: Tiny House Living , Archive » Urban Rancher – Exterior Complete

  4. Carol

    Congratulations!! I’ve watched your progress and am so impressed. I have a tiny house that is off grid, not ready for me to live in yet, but I’m on my way. Best of everything in your future endeavors.

    July 1, 2010 at 10:27 am

    • thanks much Carol!
      I’m planning to finish the interior this holiday weekend, I got some FREE laminate wood flooring off of a movie set!
      Keep the faith and work on your house whenever you can get to it…it won’t go anywhere!

      July 1, 2010 at 10:33 am

  5. et

    Congratulations! You actually did it! Looks good, too.

    July 22, 2010 at 2:51 pm

Leave a Reply

