Can a city boy build his dream homestead on a mountain, by himself and with no mortgage?

a little *BLING* on top

metal roof

Since I was scheduled to start a new job on Monday, I decided to run up to the mountain and put the metal roof on over the weekend. I was unprepared for just how gorgeous it would look!!!

A quick trip to Lowe’s for some Galvalume panels, drip edge strips, insulated screws and new sawz-all blades set me back $450…YIKES! (way more than I’d budgeted).

In order to cover the 16’L x 12’W roof, I estimated 5 sets of panels (1 each at 12′ and 8′). Since the longest available panel was 12′, I decided to lay down an 8′ panel and then overlap a 12′ panel to give me the 16′ plus some overhang on the front.

Installation was a breeze thanks to the new Lime-green Lithium battery screw gun ($159 Ryobi at the Home Depot, okay I splurged!). My old screw gun was so heavy to hold and with the carpal tunnel thing… the new screw gun is amazing!

Before attempting the installation, I spent some time online reading up on how to do this. It was a good thing because I learned all kinds of tips (like how to lay it all out and get the panels up on the roof without bending).

drip edge

I installed the drip edges, overlapping them easily, in about an hour. The panels simply lay down and get screwed every foot or so (kind of like I feel in this new “hope and change” economy). I let the panels overhang a bit, it looked much better. I sprayed some expandable foam into the front & back gaps from the corrugated shape (to keep out the bees, wasps and other flying vermin).  After silicone-caulking the seams I was done with the panels in under 2 hours.

Although the pictures don’t show the detail on the surface of the roof, it looks magnificent in person. The Galvalume has a glisten and sheen to it that makes the roof look like it’s been overlaid with silver-leaf!

Just plain GORGEOUS if I do say so myself! My buddy MJ came up with me and provided some welcome conversation and the occasional panel-holding help, but this could have easily been done solo.

Turns out I over-bought by 2 panels. You actually get 36″ of width coverage per panel, not the 32″ the website says so I returned the extras to Lowe’s and got a $70 refund!! This day just kept getting better.

I know this post has been sorta self-congratulatory but  DAMN my roof is purty!  Next task is the siding, hopefully next weekend?

peace out… E.M.

You can read my entire blog HERE…

15 responses

  1. Looking Great! Now you should be ready for a little rain (or a lot) 🙂

    November 9, 2009 at 3:00 pm

  2. Andreas

    Looks great! Really inspiring.

    November 9, 2009 at 3:47 pm

  3. Thanks a lot Guys, it’s actually been a pretty easy build so far!
    Nothing I’ve done has been so complex that a few hours searching on Google couldn’t help me! I now have this feeling I can do anything if i just think it through and take it one step at a time, an unexpected result of the build!

    November 9, 2009 at 7:42 pm

  4. Diggidy_Dylan

    this is super awesome. How much of the surrounding property is yours? it looks like it goes for some way…

    November 10, 2009 at 1:08 am

    • I own most of what you see in these pictures, back to the first mountain ridge

      November 10, 2009 at 9:41 am

  5. Kermit

    Looks good! Any plans to collect rain water? Be sure to check the gasket/screws every year or two overtime they will dryrot and deteriorate and may need a small dap of silicone put over them to keep everything water tight.

    November 13, 2009 at 10:27 am

  6. Wes

    Congrats on what looks to be nice project there.

    I just linked in from TinyHouseDesign and I haven’t looked around beyond this page so I don’t know what you’ve got in the final design for your site’s water runoff but as it stands you’re going to have a serious problem come the first rain!

    I’d seriously question the wisdom of placing your house so close to the ground in the first place, but assuming it’s too late to change that, your home should at least be on ground higher than it’s surroundings. As it stands the upstream sides of your house are going to have the bottom few inches UNDERWATER everytime it rains to speak of ! ! ! ! ! ! ! Additionally, snow of any accumulation will be up against materials that shouldn’t be under snow any more than they should be underwater.

    PLEASE dig yourself a drainage ditch that will divert the water around your house right now!

    From the photo above I haven’t got a real good idea of the lay of the land, but it looks like the diversion needs to have a three sided U shape with the base of the U on the wall with the entrance. This way all water in the ditch exits at the top of the U on the side opposite the entrance and can continue on safely away from your home.

    I don’t know what the land does uphill from you so it’s difficult to say just how much water may be aimed in your direction. In the shot above the camera isn’t too far away, yet it’s noticeably higher than you. It looks to be a fairly decent grade above the house. If the camera was on the top of your hill/mountain maybe there won’t be *too* much water running at you, but even so your house is all but touching the ground! I don’t know if you’ve ever spent time outside during a mountain storm but for at least brief periods of time a surprising amount of water doesn’t simply sink straight into the ground, it runs off over the surface. This is more than enough to wet the bottom of your house and that is never a good thing. It WILL cause long term damage.

    If you’re in a valley and near it’s bottom as well it could be very substantial indeed. Either way . . .you’ll need something at least a foot or 2 wide and around a foot deep (so the water won’t jump over the ditch altogether). Place it quite close to the house, around 2 feet away from the inside of the U. You need to consider the power of the worst possible storm you can imagine, then probably overbuild a bit.

    Good luck on your dream!

    Wes

    November 15, 2009 at 10:26 am

    • Don’t worry Wes, there’s no risk of me getting flooded out! I’m on a hill and the water drains away from where I put the cabin.

      The pictures are deceiving, there are actually 2 driveways on either side of the structure that divert all the water away from the cabin pad. There is no level ground there for the water to accumulate. If there was to be SO much water that it ran under the cabin, it would simply drain right through the gravel under the open skid. The interior floor is actually above ground between 12″ (on the low end) and 18″ (on the high side).

      It’s rare to get more than 3-4″ of snow up there (although last year we did get 12″ that lasted a few days). I’m putting siding on this week that will shield the frame from any snow contact.

      November 15, 2009 at 10:18 pm

  7. Curtis

    great job!

    January 16, 2010 at 4:03 am

  8. Jethro

    That roof slope looks well under the 2.5/12 specd for that roofing, Keep an eye on your silicon if you ever have snow piling up there. I always use a complete layer of ice shield instead of tarpaper as a backup, it’s pretty bulletproof, even seals up the screw holes very well. Cute little houselet! I’m designing my 2nd similar one on wheels now.

    April 18, 2010 at 8:35 am

    • True, the roof pitch is 1:12, but the house is so tiny and the snow is pretty light up there. It held up really well this winter, no leaks, drips or problems yet!

      April 18, 2010 at 7:24 pm

  9. Pingback: WordPress gives us an end of year “Wow”! « UrbanRancher's Blog

  10. Hello there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be ok. I’m undoubtedly enjoying your blog and look forward to new
    updates.

    February 4, 2013 at 8:34 pm

    • sorry no, I don’t have a Twitter account. Thanks for asking but I can barely keep up posting this blog!

      February 4, 2013 at 10:28 pm

  11. Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It really useful & it
    helped me out much. I hope to give something back and aid others
    like you aided me.

    March 11, 2013 at 10:56 am

Leave a Reply

